vRealize Automation Blueprint Creation – vSphere Templates not Displaying

While in the process of creating a vRA blueprint, none of my vSphere templates were displaying as an option for selection. This led me to verify some of my previous config, which led to identifying the source of the problem to be a misplaced template. Thanks @HeagaSteve for pointing me in the right direction!

As you can see when I click on the ellipsis in order to select a template I receive ‘No data to display’ in the list box:

vrabptemplate1a Continue reading

vRealize Automation 7.1 – Create Endpoints & Fabric Groups (Part 3)

vRealize Automation 7.1 – Create Tenant & Configure Authentication (Part 2)

Following on from the tenant & authentication post above, the following steps detail the creation of an Endpoint & Fabric Group in vRA 7.1.

This post will show how to create a vCenter endpoint followed by a Fabric Group, a vRO endpoint and the credentials required to connect vRA to these endpoints.

Begin by logging into the new tenant with a user who has the IaaS Administrator privileges:


Nice flow chart from vmware.com:


1. Store Credentials:

Login into your tenant:



Continue reading

vRealize Automation 7.1 – Create Tenant & Configure Authentication (Part 2)

vRealize Automation 7.1 – Installation (Part 1)

Following on from the Install post above, the following steps detail the creation of a Tenant in vRA 7.1.

Begin by navigating to https://vRA-FQDN and logging into the default tenant using the Administrator account and password created during install:


Continue reading

Deploying VCSA 6.0 with External PSC (New Site Joining Existing SSO Domain)

The following provides a step-by-step walkthrough for deploying an external PSC Appliance into a new site, while joining an existing SSO Domain, followed by the installation of VCSA 6.0.

This scenario may arise in a multi-Site multi-vCenter solution where Enhanced Linked Mode is a requirement.

Begin by mounting the VCSA ISO on the VM from which you will be managing the PSC&VCSA deployment:


Continue reading

ViPR Controller: Exporting VMAX3 LUN fails with Error 12000

This ‘Error 12000’ maybe encountered while exporting a VMAX3 LUN from ViPR Controller as a shared datastore to a specific ESXi Cluster. This issue arises in scenarios where for example the ESXi hosts already have independent Masking Views created, but no dedicated ESXi Cluster Masking View (Tenant Pod in EHC terms).

You may ask the question why each host has its own dedicated masking view?: Think Vblock/VxBlock with UCS, where each UCS ESXi blade server boots from a SAN-attached boot volume presented from the VMAX array (Vblock/VxBlock 700 series = VMAX). Further detail can be found here on how the specific functioning Masking Views are configured on a Vblock/VxBlock:


Key point: dedicated Masking views are required for VMware ESXi boot volumes in addition to Cluster Masking Views for shared vmfs datastores. Continue reading

vRealize Automation 7.1 Wizard Install – vCenter Agent Name not aligned with IaaS Host

Looks like there maybe a bug in the vRA 7.1 wizard deployment. I’m running vRA version  7.1 build 4270058 and Windows 2012 R2 build 9600.

Even though we configured the vCenter endpoint name as cloudvc01 during the vRealize Automation wizard based install, the IaaS Agent server was displaying the vCenter agent name using the FQDN cloudvc01.ppsilver.lab.local (screen captures below):

Wizard input – ‘Agents’:


Continue reading

VMAX AFA – Compression Notes

VMAX All Flash compression feature – released with HYPERMAX OS 5977.945.890

Some key points:
1. This new feature compresses data before it is written to flash drives.
2. Compression is managed per Storage Group level.
3. Approx 2:1 savings in storage efficiency.
4. One compression I/O module is required per director, which are installed on all VMAX All Flash systems. Continue reading